Association of Korean Local Governments for Social Economy and Solidarity

The Association of Korean Local Governments for Social Economy and Solidarity is a membership organization which consists of 38 local governments (Si, Gun, Gu) in Korea.

The main mission of the association is to foster social economy as a strong policy agenda and develop a cooperative network between local governments for the benefits of local communities as well as a whole.
Based on Article 152 of Local Autonomy Law, the association was established in March 2013.

The current president of the Association is Youngbae Kim, Mayor of Seongbuk-gu. Seok-jin Mun, Mayor of Seodaemun-gu serves as an executive vice president and Inseok Chae, Mayor of Hwasung-si, serves as a secretary general.

The current members of the association are: Seongbuk-gu, Dobong-gu, Nowon-gu, Eunpyeong-gu, Seodaemun-gu, Gangseogu, Geumcheon-gu, Gangdong-gu, Dongjak-gu, Seongdong-gu, Yangchun-gu in Seoul; Nam-gu, Namdong-gu; Bupyeong-gu in Incheon; Gwangsan-gu, Seo-gu in Gwangju; Yuseong-gu, Seo-gu in Daejeon; Dong-gu in Ulsan;
Suwon-si, Bucheon-si, Gwangmyeong-si, Osan-si, Siheung-si, Seongnam-si, Kimpo-si, Hwasung-si, Gapyeonggun in Gyeonggi-do; Samchuck-si, Sokcho-si in Gangwon-do; Asan-si, Nonsan-si, Dangjin-si, Seocheon-gun in Chungcheongnam-do; Yeosu-si, Damyang-gun, Haenam-gun in Jelloanam-do; and Wanju-gun in Jellabuk-do.

Core Businesses

1. Facilitating and supporting capacity building in local governments for social economy

2. Educating the community to improve their understanding of social economy and increase participation

3. Collaborating in developing effective social economy policies

4. Improving the institutional environment for social economy: collaborating with local councils and the National Assembly for laws that help local governments adopt more aggressive social economy policies such as “socially responsible procurement” and “social financing.”

5. Building a strong network with key stakeholders in social economy to promote social economy agenda